
Low Income Payment Plans 

California Vehicle Code (CVC) Section 40220 allows for installment payments of parking citations to qualifying 
low income individuals who apply within 60 days from the issuance of a notice of parking violation, or within 10 
days after an administrative hearing determination, whichever is later.  
 
Parking citation late fees and penalty assessments (“Late Fees”) are removed at time of enrollment in the 
payment plan in accordance with CVC 40220. Late Fees are reinstated if the payment plan is not completed.  
Also, DMV registration holds and Franchise Tax Board tax intercepts will not be implemented, and / or will be 
removed during the payment plan, subject to its satisfactory completion.  If the payment plan is not 
satisfactorily completed, then such remedies may be invoked. 
 

Who may qualify for a payment plan: 

To qualify, you must meet the requirements of CVC 40220 by either being “Low Income” or receiving qualifying 
“Public Benefits”, as more fully explained below. 

“Public Benefits” are as defined at GC 68632(a) and include, but are not limited to, public benefits under one 
or more of the following programs: CalWORKs (or Tribal TANF), Supplemental Security Income and State 
Supplementary Payment, Supplemental Nutrition or California Food Assistance Program, County Relief, 
General Relief or General Assistance, Cash Assistance Program for Aged, Blind, and Disabled Legal 
Immigrants, In-Home Supportive Services, and Medi-Cal. 

 

 
 

 

 

“Low Income” is defined at GC 68632(b) and is an applicant whose monthly income is 125 percent or less of 
the current poverty guidelines updated periodically in the Federal Register by the United States Department of 
Health and Human Services.  See Chart below for current income thresholds. 
 

Household / 
Family Size 

1 2 3 4 5 6 

Annual Income 
$15,175 $20,575 $25,975 $31,375 $36,775 $42,175 

 

How to enroll in a payment plan: 

You must fully complete and sign an application form.  To obtain an application online click here. You can also 
obtain an application in person at the Kingsburg Police Department, 1300 California St., Kingsburg, CA 93631. 

You must also submit documentation along with your application verifying that you are Low Income or receive 
qualifying Public Benefits, as explained below.  

 

 

  

http://cityofkingsburg-ca.gov/163/Police-Department


What Documentation/Proof needs to be submitted along with the application: 

 Public Benefits - Acceptable forms of proof include an electronic benefits transfer card or another 
card, or other documentation that confirms your receipt of qualifying Public Benefits. 
 

 Low Income - Acceptable forms of proof of Low Income include a recent pay stub, an earnings or 
financial statement, or other documentation that demonstrates that you qualify as Low Income. 

 

Where to submit your application: 

By Mail: Mail your completed application and supporting documentation to: “Kingsburg Police Department, 
Parking Enforcement Center” P.O. Box 3214, Milwaukee, WI 53201-3214 
 

What are some other key requirements / provisions applicable to payment plans: 

 CVC 40220 allows for installment payments of parking citations to qualifying low income individuals 
who apply within 60 days from the issuance of a notice of parking violation, or within 10 days after an 
administrative hearing determination, whichever is later.  

 

 Parking citation late fees and penalty assessments (“Late Fees”) are removed at time of enrollment in 
the payment plan in accordance with CVC 40220. Late Fees are reinstated if the payment plan is not 
completed.  Also, DMV registration holds and Franchise Tax Board tax intercepts will not be 
implemented, and / or will be removed during the payment plan, subject to its satisfactory completion.  
If the payment plan is not satisfactorily completed, then such remedies may be invoked. 

 

 You are only entitled to enroll in a payment plan once for any specific parking citation(s).  Subject to the 
timing requirements, you may enroll in additional payment plans for any citation(s) which were not 
previously included in a payment plan. 

 

 Only the Registered Owner or Lessee may enroll in the Payment Plan.  
 

 Citations enrolled in this program are not eligible for an Administrative Review or Hearing. No citation 
re-enrollment, contract extensions, or revisions will be granted.  Citations are not eligible for enrollment 
in a payment program if the cited vehicle is currently booted, towed or impounded (subject to the 
citations being outside of the above referenced application deadlines). 

 

 A non-refundable administrative fee of $5 due to the agency upon enrollment, which can be added to 
the payment plan at the discretion of the plan participant. 

 

 If you are enrolled in a payment plan, then you must make required monthly payments on the due date 
and otherwise comply with all applicable terms and provisions of the program, and all payment 
requirements.  Detailed payment terms will be provided in a follow-up communication if your application 
is approved. 
 

Payment Plan Approval: 

If your application for a payment plan is approved and you qualify for the payment plan, you will automatically 
be enrolled in the payment plan and a follow-up communication will provide you detailed payment information 
and terms.  If your application is incomplete or is otherwise rejected, you will be notified. If for any reason you 
wish to revoke your application or cancel your payment plan, you may notify us at any time.   

 
 
 
 



 
 
 

Information about payments and duration of the payment plan: 

AMOUNT OWED TIMELINE 
FOR 

COMPLETION 

MINIMUM 
MONTHLY 
PAYMENT 

 

$50 2 months $25 The payment plan caps the monthly payment 
amount at $25.00 if the amount due totals 
$450.00 or less. 
 
The duration of payment plans varies based 
upon the amount owed, but will not exceed 18 
months. 

$75 3 months $25 

$100 4 months $25 

$125 5 months $25 

$150 6 months $25 

Up to $450 Up to 18 months $25 

$451 and above Up to 18 months $50 

 
Kingsburg Police Department is not required to provide any invoices, payment reminders, or notification of late 
or insufficient payments. It is your sole responsibility to ensure payments are made timely and in the proper 
amounts.  All payments must be received by the due date.  Customers are encouraged to set up their own 
payment reminders. Helpful tips include: taking a photo of your payment plan agreement, setting regular 
reminders in your calendar, and telling a family member or friend who helps you with your finances. 
 
Minimum monthly payments are due no later than the 1st or 15th of each month as identified in your plan 
approval letter. 

There are no prepayment penalties and you may voluntarily make excess payments.  However, any excess 

payments will not relieve you of the obligation to timely make the mandated monthly payments in full each 

month until such time that entire payment amount is paid in full and the payment plan is completed.  If at any 

time you have questions about the remaining balance due, final payment amounts, or anything else related to 

your payment plan, please call our customer service staff at the number above.   

How to submit payments under a payment plan: 

By Mail: Send check or money order payable to “Kingsburg Police Department, Parking Enforcement Center” 

P.O. Box 3214, Milwaukee, WI 53201-3214. Reference the Payment Plan number and license plate on the 

check/money order. 

Payment Plan Default: 

If you default on your payment plan you will have 45 days from Notice of Payment Default to make the missed 

payment and otherwise bring or keep your payment plan payment(s) current. Failure to do so will result in you 

being removed from the payment plan. After this one-time 45 day extension expires, you will not be provided 

any further extensions or notices, and any additional late or insufficient payments or other forms of default will 

result in immediate removal from the payment plan.  Removal from the payment plan could result in: (i) any 

fees and penalties that had been waived as part of the payment plan being added back to the amount due, and 

(ii) vehicle registration holds or other potential consequences as permitted by law.    

If you have any questions about payment plans please contact our customer service staff at 1-888-214-6602. 

 


